Month: February 2016

  • congestion and forgiveness

    Just when everything is going so well. That's when it strikes-- a cold!! Not just any cold, this is the Hurricane Katrina of colds. A week later and I'm still so congested I sound like an elderly patient breathing her last (i.e. death rattle). So many things I could have done, but colds got in the way... alas. I hate wasting time and this week has been a major time suck. I gotta get better because March is big, too big for any error in time management.

    In other news, my nemesis, or ex boyfriend I cannot seem to shake, has come to ask for forgiveness (I really must frighten him, I thought cheerfully). After all the shitty things he's done, this is the first time he's mentioned the concept of forgiveness. On a Sunday. RIGHT after I got out of church. URGH! What moral hijacking! I wonder if I can ever do it? The entire year of 2015 I spent hell bent on revenge. And now this? Something to consider after my brain isn't soaking in cough syrup, I suppose.

  • together

    I'm getting it together and everything is going to be fine.

    itsgoingtobefineitsgoingtobefineitsgoingtobefineitsgoingtobefineitsgoingtobefine

    Spent the majority of my day dog training, setting up an online presence for my dad's benefit dinner to raise money to help him out with the mounting costs of having lymphoma. Then I mailed a birthday present and made a salad. Just gotta shower and pack for this three-day trip I grabbed from the trade board and I'll be set. Dog sitter is scheduled- check! Taxes done- check! Friend made it home flying on my guest pass- check! Crazy drama yesterday that might have actually finally gotten rid of that loser stalker ex-bf (maybe this time!?) check! Five days of travel with the love of my life while we are both at work- check!

    Its all coming together today and I feel fine. Maybe this is proof that I should take a day off every once in a while.

  • dog mom time

    Well another Valentine's Day at the flowershop has come and gone. The birthday festivities are done and my finger has healed enough to be back at work. I just drove the dogs up from Florida two nights ago, arriving in Charlotte in a fit of freezing rain. Poor little Florida dogs just shivered and shivered. I've been working on getting them (and mostly myself) adjusted these last two days. Because I was out on injury when the monthly bids happened, I was given an "open block" which basically means- create your own schedule, but make sure you fly at least 40 hrs this month. This has given me the freedom to pick up a few "all-nighter" trips, which is basically the graveyard shift of the flight attendant world. You fly the last flight out of the night, stay at the hotel for like 4-5 hrs and then fly the first one in. You get paid around 5-6.5 hrs and only work two legs in which most of the passengers are sleeping. It also allows you to go home all day and deal with family matters, so it is a semi-popular choice in the flight attendant world. I just dealt with dog training, bathroom and medicating so now hopefully I can catch a nap and do it again tonight.

    Hopefully too, now that the dogs are mine forever (Kyohei called no-takebacks), I can deal with the situation in a calm, less-stressed out way. I just met with the pet-sitter who will be feeding these two dogs while I'm out flying (always) and I'm feeling hesitantly optimistic.

    Wish me luck

February 2016
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
29  

Animated: