August 25, 2016

  • Brazil and back

    I feel like the world's patience with my belly-aching and complaining is about to run thin (if it hasn't already). Through some miracle of accidents and providence I was able to switch around my schedule to spend a week in Brazil and then go back to Pennsylvania for an event for my dad. If this sounds exactly like my life in March, well then congrats, you've been paying attention. This time, friends were going getting married in Brasilia. Not only were my band of airline friends and I treated to a free "farmhouse" to stay in, we were ushered around the city on a great tour. Brasilia is a very interesting capital as it was totally planned in the 60s... instead of growing all chaotically like most cities. We also got to go see Sweden vs USA women's soccer in the Olympics. Who knew all the events weren't in Rio? I think I caught the fever, I might try and go to the Olympics from now on.

    The wedding itself was incredible. I felt like I was on the set of a soap opera- all the guests were dressed to the 9s and 10s and even the old people were beautiful. Welcome to Brazil, I guess. It was a gorgeous and fun garden wedding and I'm happy I was invited. The more time I spend in Brazil, the more I love it.

    I managed to get first class going and coming, which means I actually got some sleep (and champagne). This came in helpful on the way back. Once in PA, I drove my mother to surgery in Pittsburgh and then back and forth. Her thyroid cancer removed and my dad's PET scan coming back clean means that for the first time in over a year BOTH OF MY PARENTS ARE CANCER FREE. I wish I could take a moment to exhale, but there is just no time. Now that I've done nothing but play and rent cars, it is time to pay the piper. I picked up some more trips and I'm just going to straight work away the rest of the month. I'm not hating it though- another trip to MCO and LGA means more friend run-ins. Nothing makes me happier than seeing my friends.

August 2016
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Animated: