March 28, 2011
-
ray of hope
I've been sitting on some really good news for a while now. In the midst of all the horrors that continue to unfold in Japan, there is one piece of good news: Kyohei's sister is pregnant-- I'm going to be an AUNT!!! I'm already fantasizing about all the baby clothes and toys and then taking my little nephew or niece to Disney... aaaww!
This is so fantastic, especially considering the depth of my drunken, emotional breakdown when we didn't know whether or not she would keep the baby. What an emotional roller-coaster.
Now, Kyohei and I are busy buying our flights home to Japan in June for her wedding! whoohooo. Who knew we'd be back in Japan so soon. My first Japanese wedding. Since I am a married family member, I get to wear a black kimono, too. Sweet.
Maki, my sis-in-law, has also asked me to do a 'performance' for her reception. I think this is standard order for Japanese weddings, many people sing karaoke or something. Since I will be wearing a kimono, dance seems to be out of the question.... I think??
That leaves singing. Anyone who knows me should be furrowing their brow right now. Even though I LOVE to sing, I know I'm not good at it. My only salvation is that I can sing a song in English. Now thanks to my husband *cough* this song has been suggested.It is probably my favorite enka song and I know most of the words already but... I mean... I don't have that range. I will surely need to be a few sakes deep for this undertaking.
















Comments (9)
Not enka, and it has a CRAZY range- not to mention way over done at Japanese weddings.... This is one of my favorites. =)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Sdp-qLOy4w&feature=related
Oh, and congrats to your sister-in-law!
That's exciting news!
When I glanced at the first couple of lines I thought you were saying you were preggers! But then I read it properly!
Anyway, just drink a few cups of sake and you will be okay
@SakataMon - urgh! Every time I have something to talk about or feel a little sick everyone assumes I'm pregnant. Have you started to get this yet? This is one reason to look forward to menopause.
@Saferia - Thanks for the suggestion-- but I'm pretty sure I could not sing Jupiter well either. You have to have a pretty voice for that one. I was thinking more along the lines of Natalie Cole's (Nat King or Sinatra's) L-O-V-E http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9iiio4h60qU
fast, simple, no big range, and I've done this at karaoke before.
@SakataMon - @Saferia - Whoh.... they have my song in Japanese http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vQW6EzBZ5Vg&feature=related
One verse English one verse nihongo....dou?
I love this song! Sang it a bonenkai once with another teacher. I think we did it well because we practiced at karaoke a couple of times!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TkvTImOAsqs
Do you not plan on having children at all? I'm a bit torn. And time is kinda running out because I am 35 years old this year. I want to move back to Australia first, get a job and settled down before having a kid. That would make me around 40 which is pushing the limits.
But yes, I have had comments about babies from Kuni's dad and from Japanese friends on the day I got married!!! And from other friends lately on Facebook when I said I was feeling sick (with hayfever!!!). Annoying!
Oh! Definitely do the "L-O-V-E" song in Japanese! That's cute! And it's at a nice easy level to hit the notes. =)
@SakataMon - Yeah, I'm kind of in the same place you are. I'm 30 now... so I still have some time, but like, maybe not that much... who knows. I feel like kids are such a big deal that you should really, really want to have one before you start. I just don't feel that way. I feel like I would have to give up everything fun that I like about my life... I know I would. sigh.... I just wish I felt strongly one way or the other.
But, yeah I am really sick of people putting pressure on me. I just want to say... I'm saving water and oil for all the other little brats-- you should be thanking me!
Comments are closed.