March 18, 2011
-
spending spree
aka I will literally fight for Japan
Apparently somewhere in my subconscious, I am determined to solve all the world's problems by clicking "confirm payment".
I clearly deal with stress by spending money.
I can't even cut the cards up, I've memorized all the numbers.
I've also heard that people aren't donating to the Japan disaster generously like they did for Haiti or Katrina because they view Japan as a "rich" country. (so, then by that logic people around the world shouldn't have donated to Katrina or the Deepwater Horizon oil spill or the earthquake in China (etc) because the US and China are even richer than Japan??) You aren't sending money to the government, you are sending money to aid organizations. And even if you were... the government is so overwhelmed by the sheer magnitude of this disaster.... I bet these same people will bitch when all their electronics are on back-order because they can't get the parts from OUR PARTNER, JAPAN.
This makes me so frustrated I could fight.
If anyone I know actually feels this way, please alert me so I can unfriend you for life.
The State Dept has just issued a statement about evacuating Americans from the Tokyo area (far away from the disaster) as well... it just gets worse and worse. Kyohei's family is starting to get nervous too.
Seriously, if you haven't donated even just $5 or $10 for this, don't talk to me. I don't think I can consider you a friend.
















Comments (5)
Huge props to you! A disaster is a disaster- PERIOD! And certain things that were broken/destroyed in Japan might actually as much (people/resources/time) to repair and/or rescue as in less-developed places. I don't know this for a fact, but what does it REALLY matter when people are suffering and in need of aid? The Red Cross specifically states (as it did for the earthquake in Haiti) that you can donate specifically to the Japan relief fund. AND IF there are any left-over funds they would be put to use in other areas where needed. So, it's a GOOD donation regardless of whether or not Japan will need all of the donated funds. You'll be helping someone regardless!
Hopefully you won't have to unfriend anyone for asinine comments... And I'm going to assume the Newt Gingrich isn't on your "top 5 friends" list.
BTW: Yes, I made my donation to Japan (along with my regular charitable contributions), and will donate more after payday (refer to my "district letter scare post").
@Saferia - No chance of un-friending you, ha ha. Yeah, I think most normal rational people understand the magnitude of the disaster... and thanks for making the differentiation between Japan and Haiti. I'm pretty sure no one has the guts to say that rebuilding Japan will be so much more of a project than haiti because Japan actually had infrastructure before the disaster.... but I'm sure if anyone made a remark like that they would be crucified by the media. Oh well. It just stinks of American ignorance. How quickly we forget the international support after 9/11, right? Good luck on the job situation.........
@justgotspaid - Yes! You hit the nail on the head! I actually deleted a couple of sentences in my original response that stated that it might actually cost more money to rebuild in Japan since their housing standards/regulations are more advanced (not saying one is better, just more advanced/modern) and that they do have more wide spread infrastructure in place than did Haiti pre-quake (ie: I'm pretty sure Haiti doesn't have any nuclear reactors...). Again, not saying one country is better than the other. Just that different situations need different solutions and monies spent in different areas.
I hope that the rebuilding and healing can start soon.
@Saferia - Agreed!
Comments are closed.