after party...
In Japan, the after-party is a normal part of the wedding. It's more like a wedding shower for the couple and their friends.

The couple, in yet another outfit, and I head out to the after-party or nijikai

More cake, more champagne, more pictures... what's not to like
we played BINGO for door prizes. I ended up winning a sweet massage cushion. I'm thinking about bringing it into work, ha ha ha.
Maki handed off her bouquet to Kaori and her boyfriend. Here's hoping they are next!
After the after-party is the after-after-party or sanjikai
This typically takes place in a karaoke bar. Shinsuke sang my favorite song, "karappo" for me. I like this guy a lot already
Then, in the grand tradition of our family weddings [ remember Kyohei getting stuck in Canada for a month right after our wedding?] Disaster strikes.
1) I was jet lagged and fading fast by around midnight at karaoke. Maki put me in a taxi and gave the driver instructions to take me to a supermarket near the family's house and then called her parents to meet me there. After driving for a while, the driver asked me where he should go.
"How should I know, I don't live here"
"Maybe if I drive around for a little while you will remember."
"There is no way I'm going to remember something I didn't know in the first place no matter how much you drive around."
...he drives around for a little while
"You really don't know where to go?"
"no"
"you seem troubled"
"I am troubled."
"What should we do? I would feel bad letting you off here in the middle of no-where in the rain."
"There is no way I'm getting out here in the rain."
"what should we do?"
"well, if you don't know where to go, we have no other choice but to go back to the karaoke place. I hope someone is still there. It can't be helped."
"hhmmm" drives around
"look, you are wasting time. I don't care, I will pay you, just take me back to the karaoke place."
"really, you'll pay? Is that really OK?"
"yes, I said it. Please go."
So I get back to the karaoke place. The fare is about $60, hand the guy $100 (10,000yen) and ask for change. He gives me back a ten and ten in change. WTH? I asked where the rest was and he said, "no"
"I just gave you a $100"
"no, you gave me $10 and asked be to break it up."
"no I didn't"
"yes you did. Look, this is what a hundred looks like"
[don't you fucking patronize me because I am foreign] "yeah, I know. That is what I gave you."
"no you didn't, I just gave you change."
This went on for a while and I was eventually so fed up, I just gave him the $60 and ran into the karaoke place.
My friends were all gone. I didn't have a cell phone and I left my notebook with all the contact info at home because I had a small bag. DAMN! Eventually the karaoke place got a hold of Maki's friend Kaori who signed up for a membership at the club.
It was around 2am when Kyohei came to retrieve me. By that time, his family had already called the police to report a missing person. We had to go to the police station to cancel the search. I told Kyohei about the money and then he told the police. They called the taxi co. and the driver had to come into the station. I really didn't want to see him at this point, but what could I do? Right after the driver shows up, Kyohei's mom, dad and sister burst into the station and suddenly the guy is surrounded by my loud Japanese family all shouting at him. It would have been funny if it weren't so uncomfortable....and I weren't so tired.
The police just looked on while the shouting continued. I had a moment of feeling happy I had such a fierce J-family in my corner. Looks like you messed with the wrong foreigner, eh taxi driver?
We went around and around with this guy until after 4am. We didn't really get anywhere. I think my family just wanted an apology for causing so much stress, but eventually I just got my $60 back.
2) Poor Maki, what a fantastic wedding night. After getting home at 4:30, her new husband woke up with a really high fever. She drove him to the hospital where he was admitted!
That being said, they hospitalize you in Japan much more readily than in the States. Here, if you have a baby or a surgery, the insurance co. & hospital kicks you out the door the next day. In Japan, where they have socialized medical care, you actually get to see doctors and get treated for illness and then everyone lives into their 100s. :END GRIPE
Luckily, the couple wasn't planning their wedding trip until September when Shinsuke could get more time off of work (he works for a solar panel co., awesome, right?!) He ended getting out of the hospital on Friday, so at least we go a couple days of hanging out with him outside his hospital room.
The joke of the week was, "at least it wasn't Canada." ha ha. After 5 years, that is starting to get funny.





































































































































